Traveling Book Group

 

The Traveling Book Group is meeting Thursday, February 1 at 7:00. The group will discuss If the Creek Don’t Rise by Leah Weiss. All are welcome to join the discussion. Copies of the book are available at the library.

From Library Journal: /* Starred Review */ DEBUT

“The  1970s Appalachia of Weiss’s brilliant first novel has a culture of moonshining, clan feuding, and enduring poverty that has kept an iron grip on generations of inhabitants. At 16, Sadie Blue Tupkin feels trapped in Baines Creek , NC. She is illiterate, married to abusive Roy, and expecting a baby. Roy is a mean drunk who tends his still and sees other women.

Interwoven into this heartrending tale are the  stories of others in Sadie’s community, like her granny Gladys, who raised her and knows all about no-good husbands. Meanwhile, Preacher Eli lives with his spiteful sister Prudence and longs to meet someone intelligent. He finds that person in new teacher Kate, who has a magical way with her charges, including Sadie, whom she inspires.

When Roy’s latest lady friend disappears, Birdie, the  local medicine woman, sees a necklace in the  pile of shiny objects her pet crow brings home. It belongs to the  missing woman, a present from Roy. In an ending that packs a wallop, Sadie finally takes control of her life.

VERDICT Writing with a deep knowledge of the  enduring myths of Appalachia, Weiss vividly portrays real people and sorrows. A strong, formidable novel for readers of William Faulkner and Cormac McCarthy.—Donna Bettencourt, Mesa Cty. P.L., Grand Junction, CO –Donna Bettencourt (Reviewed 05/01/2017) (Library Journal, vol 142, issue 08, p70)”

traveling book group - if the creek don't rise