Afternoon Book Group – Supremes sing the Happy Heartache Blues

Supremes sing the happy heartache bluesThe Dighton Library’s Afternoon Book group is meeting Thursday, November 29 at 4:00 to discuss The Supremes Sing the Happy Heartbreak Blues by Edward Kelsey Moore. Copies of this book are available at the library. Pick up December’s book while you are here!

From Library Journal:  “/* Starred Review */”Readers will be pleased to catch up with the three lifelong friends, dubbed in high school “the Supremes,” from the author’s best-selling debut, The Supremes at Earl’s All-You-Can-Eat.

A cast of quirky residents of Plainview, IN, from Baptist assistant pastors to traveling bluesmen, orbits now middle-aged Odette, Clarice, and Barbara Jean in this story of family, friendship, and forgiveness.

The novel opens with an unusual wedding scene involving a pair of octogenerians who once were sworn enemies. Sensitive, strong, sharp-tongued Odette narrates several chapters, providing insight on each new crisis (big or small) gleaned from living in a small town or from her dead mama, who pops up unexpectedly to chat.

VERDICT Moore’s bluesy, breezy novel takes readers through life’s highs and lows and in-between times when no one knows what is coming next; its air of folksy optimism should appeal to fans of Alexander McCall Smith and Fredrik Backman. [See Prepub Alert, 12/19/16.]—Laurie Cavanaugh, Thayer P.L., Braintree, MA –Laurie Cavanaugh (Reviewed 06/01/2017) (Library Journal, vol 142, issue 10, p94)